Week 14 – Day 93 – Tuesday

Today was almost a repeat of yesterday.

I realized that when my senior broker put me on the phones, I might have been calling states I haven’t been registered in yet.  That’s a huge compliance no-no.  I went into the back office to talk to the recruiting head assistant about it.  She said, “don’t call anyone until you know where you’re registered!”

I sat there until 8am and my senior broker came in the back looking for me.  I explained to him what I was doing.  He then said, “I don’t care what she said.”  LOL, ok whatever, if I get in trouble, it’s going to be unpleasant.

I got on the phones again and paced back and forth yelling at prospects, and trying to convince them that they need to let me share one idea in the stock market in the near future.  Let me remind you all that I’m not allowed to sit down.  I don’t have a chair anyway so even if I was allowed to, I wouldn’t be able to.

At 9am, the firm had the usual floor meeting.  The CEO started off talking normally and suddenly exploded into a rage, his face turning red, and veins coming out of his forehead.  I don’t even really remember what he was mad at.

I do remember him saying in a rage, “let me remind you this is a RESPECTED institution and you’re here to build a life for yourself and do very well for yourselves and your clients.  You are to be in here at 8am on the phones or you’re OUT OF HERE!  This firm is going to 10, 000 brokers in 5 years.  Believe me it’s GOING TO HAPPEN.  It’s going to happen with OR WITHOUT some people at this firm!!!”

The guy is megalomaniac, not that being one is necessarily a bad thing, but I feel like he’s going to die at age 40 from a heart attack.  By the end of the day, I felt very exhausted.  I left work at around 9:15pm, and got on the 2/3 subway to Port Authority.  I arrived home at roughly 10:30pm.  My workday with commute and all, runs from 5:30am to 10:30pm.

Leave a comment

Filed under Wall Street Broker

Leave a comment