Week 1 – Day 5 on Wall Street

On 5 hours of sleep, I got into the city at about 7:00am today and went to get a bagel w/ cream cheese and an orange juice at Stir Cafe by Wall St.

I arrived at the company building at approximately 7:25am.  As the elevator doors opened on the top floor, I was greeted by the usual pumping music.  I started by yelling my pitch at the walls, then I got on the phones and started dialing away.  Cold calling sucks ass.

The CEO gave the floor a quick speech about how if he gets another stupid question or sees bags under any desks, he’s going to get compliance to remove you.  “If I see them, then that means I can’t trust you.  If I can’t trust you, then you’re a liability.  If you’re a liability, then you’re getting out of here.”  LOL.

Briefing.com gave the entire company a free lunch and a quick presentation.  Their fucking product costs $3000.  Insane price but I have to remember how rich some of these brokers are.  It’s basically a stock information tool.

During lunch, some junior brokers started hassling this trainee who looks like McLovin from that movie Superbad.  This is that pussy kid that I mentioned in earlier posts.  He’s 18 though so you gotta cut him some slack…I mean I was a pussy too when I was 18.

Luckily we got out at 4pm today…or at least the other trainees did.  I stayed until 4:20pm.

My senior broker told me to come in at 12pm tomorrow.  I don’t even know if the other trainees have to come in, it depends on the broker.  Do I care?  Honestly, I want to just relax for the weekend, but if I have to go in for just 4 hours, then I’ll go.  I really have to get used to working 68 to 75 hour weeks.  Hilarious hours with a less than 50% guarantee that you’ll make it.

At the end of this week, I made a goal.  $200, 000 by age 25.  Gotta go through hell to get to heaven.

Leave a comment

Filed under Wall Street Broker Trainee

Leave a comment